Hello and recovery question

• 26 replies
  • 484 subscribers

Hi everyone. I hope you’re all doing well- so breast cancer is a bit of a challenge isn’t it? Scream  I had surgery 9 days ago (lumpectomy and sentinel node biopsy) and don’t have the follow up for another 3 weeks. It’s a long time to wait. I’m healing ok, I still feel really tired and my scars are tight and itchy and sore, but ok. I am interested to know what other people have done about work. I’m a teacher. The surgeon signed me off for 2 weeks and said to get further sick notes from the GP. The thought of going back to work next week makes me feel dread, I’m not feeling strong enough. I have no idea what the expectations are around time off, and feel stressed about it. I don’t know whether others bounced back to work quickly or, like me, feel they need more time? As much as the physical recovery, I’m finding it hard emotionally too. It’s life changing stuff. 
I would love to hear from others about their experiences. Take care everyone, S

• Thank you so much for your detailed and kindly reply. This forum has been really helpful in shifting my perspective around work, but also in feeling less alone in the journey. And I’m definitely going to start the daily diary to get all the thoughts out! 
    Best wishes, S x

• Thank you so much to everyone who replied today. I feel so much better for sharing my thoughts and hearing about your experiences. I also feel more confident about saying what I need, which right now is definitely more time off work! I don’t want to make any decisions until I’ve had my follow-up appointment and know what further treatment/ surgery I need. 
    It’s been lovely to “meet” you all. Much love, S xxx