Hello and recovery question

• 26 replies
  • 483 subscribers

Hi everyone. I hope you’re all doing well- so breast cancer is a bit of a challenge isn’t it? Scream  I had surgery 9 days ago (lumpectomy and sentinel node biopsy) and don’t have the follow up for another 3 weeks. It’s a long time to wait. I’m healing ok, I still feel really tired and my scars are tight and itchy and sore, but ok. I am interested to know what other people have done about work. I’m a teacher. The surgeon signed me off for 2 weeks and said to get further sick notes from the GP. The thought of going back to work next week makes me feel dread, I’m not feeling strong enough. I have no idea what the expectations are around time off, and feel stressed about it. I don’t know whether others bounced back to work quickly or, like me, feel they need more time? As much as the physical recovery, I’m finding it hard emotionally too. It’s life changing stuff. 
I would love to hear from others about their experiences. Take care everyone, S

• Hi, hope you are taking it easy and resting up.

I had a lumpectomy and sentinel node clearance just coming up for 6 weeks ago. I was initially signed off for 3 weeks but after 3 weeks there was no way I was ready to go back to work, I've just had to have a rethink about going back to work as my further 3 weeks is up. The mind said I was ready to go back, so I went into work and tried a couple of hours but soon realised that working in a bakery being on my feet all day and doing a job that involved a lot of carrying, lifting, reaching and squeezing into confined spaces really wasn't going to work. I'm very lucky that my boss is very understanding and agreed that it wasn't really best for me, as it turns out I've just got my Oncotype results back and the next stage of treatment should start very soon.