Hello and recovery question

• 26 replies
  • 484 subscribers

Hi everyone. I hope you’re all doing well- so breast cancer is a bit of a challenge isn’t it? Scream  I had surgery 9 days ago (lumpectomy and sentinel node biopsy) and don’t have the follow up for another 3 weeks. It’s a long time to wait. I’m healing ok, I still feel really tired and my scars are tight and itchy and sore, but ok. I am interested to know what other people have done about work. I’m a teacher. The surgeon signed me off for 2 weeks and said to get further sick notes from the GP. The thought of going back to work next week makes me feel dread, I’m not feeling strong enough. I have no idea what the expectations are around time off, and feel stressed about it. I don’t know whether others bounced back to work quickly or, like me, feel they need more time? As much as the physical recovery, I’m finding it hard emotionally too. It’s life changing stuff. 
I would love to hear from others about their experiences. Take care everyone, S

• Yes! I think the well-meaning questions are so hard to answer. Yes, my scars are healing. Hopefully the cancer is gone. But I’m scared, I feel really emotional and I don’t know what else my treatment is. 
    my family are the best, especially my husband. Thank God for him! 

1. Hi, I'm waiting for my chemo treatment to start in the next 2 weeks followed by a lumpectomy.   My employers have referred me to occupational health who will manage my time off.  As it's not clear when I will feel well enough for work and when I won't, we are taking it on a "changing goal posts" basis dependant on how I'm feeling.   I agree it is mentally challenging as well as the physical aspects and would say that if you don't have occupational health at your employers then listen to your body and take the time needed to fully heal both physically and mentally.  Your GP should support you fully in this.   Good luck and I hope you get the time you need to be well.