It's only just begun

• 13 replies
  • 483 subscribers

Good morning everyone, and Hello Smiley

I am a Yorkshire lass, and 59. I've been divorced since 2006 and remained single. 

In the last two weeks I have learned I have breast cancer, and my surgery is this Friday.

So much information to absorb. I prefer it that way though, as I found the waiting period and not knowing very wobbly. 

I do know I have to have radiotherapy and endocrine prime therapy. I am keeping my fingers crossed I don't have to have Chemo. I really don't want to feel ill. This may sound daft to all of you that have already had the surgery and radiotherapy, but I am a complete newbie and I can't even imagine not having mobility in my arm yet.  

I feel like a yo-yo in and out of the hospital for all the appointments. I hope to be able to continue working as it has made me feel more normal and taken my mind off it. 

I don't really know what to expect when I get home after the surgery, or when I start the radiotherapy. I was shocked to learn I can't drive for two weeks after the surgery.  My nurse told me the hormone therapy side effects are like a menopause..... the joys, and for five years too.

I have always been optimistic and thankfully this hasn't failed me.

Yet sometimes I get really cross, because just as it seems my life is on track then this happens. I remind myself I am not alone. There are many many women experiencing this too. There are many people with other forms of cancer and other forms of treatment, even in the royal family. 

So even my thoughts yo-yo.