Breast Clinic results, the waiting is an anxious time!

• 7 replies
  • 486 subscribers

Hey newbie here, looking for some support I guess! 

I’m 44, never had children.

On 30th April I had a punch biopsy, mammogram & ultrasound on my left breast. I’d found what felt like a large lump & my breast is very swollen, red & sore. It felt like it came on suddenly & for 2-3 days I had flu like symptoms too. My GP treated me for mastitis, and gave me antibiotics, however referred me to the breast clinic. I don’t get my results until 30th May, is this usual? Seems a long time to wait! I’m in a bit of a spin about it tbh.

Since the breast clinic, my right breast is also quite sore & there is a lump. Does seem to point to mastitis, but I’ve been googling (what a stupid thing for me to do lol), and I’m anxious!

Thanks x

• Hi JoCet,

I had a mammogram about ten weeks ago, then got the call back to weeks later and had X-rays, ultrasound and three biopsies. I then had to wait three weeks before I got the results that I had breast cancer, so these kind of waits are not unusual, in fact, they are quite the norm. I’ve since had my lumpectomy and two lymph nodes removed, all went well and I now await radiotherapy.

You have made the first big step by finding the Macmillan site, everyone is like a family here. I hope that things turn out well for you, fingers and everything crossed, but it may help if you visit your nearest Macmillan centre if you ever need to, a list is on here, they are superbly helpful and give you lots of great info, do walks, talks and lots of other things. I also go for a short walk every day (British weather permitting)and do a daily diary, this is mega helpful, as it gets everything off your chest and out of your system. It may also help to listen to a meditation podcast, as they really make you feel calm - I use one called ‘Go Gently’ by Christine Elizabeth Smith, it’s easy to do and very relaxing.