Benefits and Pip

• 2 replies
  • 316 subscribers

Hi everyone,

Newbie here and probably going over a discussion you've seen a million times.

So I had my lumpectomy end of July and got signed off for a month. I'd only been employed by my current employer for 6 months when diagnosed so I'm only entitled to 1 month full pay and 2 months half pay. Then I'll get SSP.

My month off post op used up my full pay and 1 week of half pay.

I'm starting chemo next week and my Dr has recommended I take off the 4 months of the cycles but I've got to factor in the radiotherapy after and recovery.

I live alone so any income is just via me.

Work haven't been particularly forthcoming but I've taken my remaining holiday days so I get at least 1 more month of full pay.

I've done various benefits calculators, some say I'm entitled to money some have also said none! 

I'm not sure I can apply for UC yet as I'm not down to half pay which will then change again when down to SSP, because I haven't started treatment yet and don't know how I'm going to feel how do you then apply for PIP?!

I was on UC the last 6 months of 2023 when I was out of work and looking for employment so I'm also worried that gaps in my Nat insurance will effect it.

Haven't been able to get through to the macmillan finance team yet but it's stressing me out. My sister keeps telling me not to worry but no one in my family has spare cash lying about. Any tips gratefully received!

I've also had Covid this week which I thought would delay treatment (luckily not) and my period has started (usually always pretty painful) which has made me think I'm not going to be allowed to take my favourite painkiller if they continue!

I can only hope 2025 will be a better year!

• Hi Toebeans

I am sorry to hear of your breast cancer and wish you well for your continuing treatment.