Newbie here and scared

• 13 replies
  • 311 subscribers

Hi guys, just wanted to say hi and introduce myself.  My names Sarah and I have recently been diagnosed with DSIC B3. Last week I found out I may need a right side mastectomy due to scattered calcification and to be on safe side. To say taking it in is hard and one minute I'm up the next a complete mess. 

The beginning of last week was just a normal week but now I'm researching what I should do next. Reconstruction? Implant? Flat  I'm so confused and feel so alone even though my family have been amazing. The waiting is just too much to cope with. I find it hard to breathe and keep control.  

I joined this group just to chat with others that understand and could maybe share what they did and how they felt?? Please... is anyone there?? X

• Hi Sarah. I’m sorry to find you’re in this group. I was also recently diagnosed and it’s very emotional. You’ll have ok days and bad days where it gets overwhelming. I’ve had a mastectomy and now need more treatment. The waiting part is the worse and once you have your treatment plan it gets easier but sirloin difficult. It will get easier. X

• Hi  , sorry you’ve had to join this club that none of us wanted to join. Hopefully you’ll feel less alone though as it’s a great place for support and shared experiences. I had a different type of breast cancer and had a lumpectomy plus radiotherapy rather than a mastectomy, so am not much help re choices relating to reconstruction and implants, but others here will have had similar so will be of more help! Just wanted to pop in to welcome you and to send a big virtual hug your way. And it’s a very scary time, waiting for results and plans, most of us seem to feel more in control once we know more about what we’re facing. Love and hugs, HFxx

PS I’m sure you’ll get responses that relate more to your situation but you could also start a new thread with your question in the title eg ‘Mastectomy options - what did you do?’