Newbie here and scared

• 13 replies
  • 313 subscribers

Hi guys, just wanted to say hi and introduce myself.  My names Sarah and I have recently been diagnosed with DSIC B3. Last week I found out I may need a right side mastectomy due to scattered calcification and to be on safe side. To say taking it in is hard and one minute I'm up the next a complete mess. 

The beginning of last week was just a normal week but now I'm researching what I should do next. Reconstruction? Implant? Flat  I'm so confused and feel so alone even though my family have been amazing. The waiting is just too much to cope with. I find it hard to breathe and keep control.  

I joined this group just to chat with others that understand and could maybe share what they did and how they felt?? Please... is anyone there?? X

• Hi Sarah my mastectomy went well. The plastic surgeon and breast surgeon advised this was my best option.I had a tram flap reconstruction. So I basically look like I’ve had a tummy tuck as well. They took a section of my stomach including some muscle. My belly button has a new home and I also had my nipple removed and some lymph nodes. So I have 3 scars, one hip to hip, one round my belly button and one round where my nipple once was. The operation took roughly 8 hours. I had one drain while I was in hospital which was removed after 6 days. This held me up going home. I was bruised and swollen for a while but not in too much pain. The physio had me up and about the second day. Some people get up the day after but I was nauseous and faint. I felt a lot better once I was home. 
    The whole recovery takes time and I was told I had been overdoing it, the nurse could tell at the dressing clinic. My breast is still not fully soft but it’s getting there.