Work between Lumpectomy and radiotherapy?

• 10 replies
  • 310 subscribers

Hi, I had my lumpectomy and lymph nodes removal yesterday and have been signed of work for a period of up to three weeks. I teach primary and have a complex class this year. While I’m keen to get back to work I am also anxious about this as I’m expecting I’ll need time off during and after the radiotherapy. Please could I ask what your experience has been; I understand we are all unique in our journeys but I’m still trying to process the last month from diagnosis to now. Thanks in advance. 

• Hi  , as you’ve said, we are all unique in our experiences so now is the time to feel able to do what feels best for you. In my case, I had thought I’d be back at work a couple of weeks after my surgery and was initially signed off by the hospital for 2 weeks. But I realised after the op that I wouldn’t be ready at all! I was a special needs teacher and my job involved a lot of moving and handling. My lovely students were often unpredictable and the job, although I loved it, was physically and mentally very demanding. My GP signed me off for a further month, and in the end I remained signed off till 4 weeks after my radiotherapy finished. In total, 4 months from the date of my op. I’d never have believed that I’d need that long off, but I did. My school were very supportive and actually it was easier for them to plan cover with longer sick notes. I know I was lucky though, as there was no pressure on me to return. I did feel very guilty but I really couldn’t have faced going back any sooner. 
    So, please think about what is best for you. Some people do go back to work very quickly but I think they’re mainly in jobs where there’s an option to work from home. Teaching is very ‘full on’ and there’s no chance of ‘taking it easy’ if you feel exhausted or overwhelmed once there. It’s definitely an individual situation but it’s a time to try to put yourself first, not easy I know!