A persistent cough after radiotherapy.

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 19 replies
  • 315 subscribers

Hi. Im new to this and have not posted before. Ive just had radiotherapy following a double lumpectomy on my right breast. Ive developed a cough which leeps me up all night asits worse when I lay down. Has anyone else developed a cough post radiotherapy? If so has it been resolved and how?

Ive been given anti biotics amoxicillin by my gp but only yotake if I bring up colored phlegm which I havent done. Motsure what to do? Any suggestions welcome .

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi  

Welcome to the Breast group, a great place to find yourself at a tough time :(

Don't know how long your Rads sessions finished but the treatment carries on working for 2-3 weeks after the last one then fades off. Is it just the cough, or do you have shortness of breath too ?

Getting a cough afterwards isn't uncommon and can happen when the lung gets 'clipped' by the radiotherapy beam when they target the area. Sometimes after treatment to the breast/chest area, part of the lung behind the treatment area can become inflamed, causing a dry cough and/or shortness of breath. This usually heals by itself over time.

If this isn't an infection there won't be any coloured phlegm so the anti-biotics won't help but steroids may ease the irritation ?

Have you phoned the radiotherapy unit or your oncologist and asked about this to see what advice they give to patients who get this side effect ?  As a lot of this cancer treatment malarky is above most GP's heads so they always try to treat the obvious because they haven't the oncology / rads experience.

Hopefully there will be a member here who has also experienced this and will reply later :)

How are you post surgery - recovered well or struggling a bit ?

Take care, G n' J

• FormerMember
    FormerMember