Hello, newly diagnosed with a 1cm parasagittal meningioma

• 3 replies
  • 54 subscribers

Hi everyone,

I feel a bit of a fraud posting on a cancer forum, but these forums seem to be the only place to talk to others in my position. I was initially diagnosed with a suspected pituitary adenoma due to high prolactin levels and was referred to an endocrinologist who ordered an MRI and prescribed Dostinex/Cabergoline, which I have been taking weekly. The Dostinex has made me tired, slightly spaced out and headachey.

Anyway, I had the results of my MRI scan back this week and whilst they didn’t find a pituitary tumour, they did in fact find a 1cm parasagittal meningioma. I think I’m still in shock to be honest. I was not expecting anything like this at all. I’m a secondary school teacher and haven’t been able to drive on the Dostinex, so have been off work since the 29th January. I was thinking of going back to work prior to my meningioma diagnosis, but now I’m just at home, feeling worried and bored.

I do live in Ireland and I know there are Irish forums, but I’m British and thought it would be ok for me to join a UK online community. I know my GP said I’m being referred to a neurosurgeon, but I don’t know what to do with myself at the moment.

Obviously, I’m mentally not in a great place and would probably not be much use at work, but I’m desperately bored at home. I love teaching and really miss my normal life before my diagnosis.Work have told me to take my time and get my health sorted before I even think of returning.

I’m just wondering if there is anyone else in a similar position/situation? I just feel like my life is on hold at the moment and that I’m no longer in control.