HAVE WE MADE THE RIGHT DECISION

• 1 reply
  • 55 subscribers

Hi I am a newbie my son got diagnosed with a pontine mass (tumour) 2 days after his birthday and is inoperable and no biopsy as this may kill him or seriously handicap him to say me his dad and younger brother are devastated is an understatement.After consultation and treatment plan was discussed he went for a blood test then was called  into his room and on discussion with him was told he could have 2 years 3 years and he even has patients that have gone 7 years.We have not told our son this information and are in a predicament wether to as before diagnosis he had a 8 year cocaine addiction and we feel if we tell him he may start useing again this may lead to his treatment plan being jeopardised.My other son thinks we should tell him but respects our decision not to as his parents we feel it should either be on a need to know basis or leave it to the consultant when no more can be done or he takes a turn for the worse. 

• Hi Cazbar1967

a warm welcome to the group. So sorry to hear about all that has been going on with your son. Life's too cruel.

I'm currently supporting my husband through his stage 4 brain tumour journey. He was first diagnosed in Sept 2020 and its been a emotional rollercoaster ride for us all ever since. We have 2 kids (now 25 and 23). 

As a parent its only natural to want to protect your son from the impact of his diagnosis and at the end of the day its your decision as a family whether you tell him or not or how much you tell him. I would encourage you to talk your concerns through with his medical team and ask their opinion here too.  Gather all the facts about how this diagnosis could progress over time and the impact it could have on your son's day to day quality of life before reaching a final decision.

There's some great information on the main website about dealing with a diagnosis and how to support the person. Here's the links-

Diagnosis | Macmillan Cancer Support