Mam of 18 month old recent ependymoma removal.

• 2 replies
  • 35 subscribers

Hi I'm new to this and it's all really daunting.

My daughter had an Ependymoma removed 24th May and followed with 6 weeks of Proton Beam Radiotherapy. Both thing's considered went by with ease. I'd been advised she's been through the worse. 

She had her first round (out of 7) of Chemo this weekend and I just don't know how to help her. She has a rash which I believe is caused by the Chemo but that's a debate in the hospital. It was all over her tummy, back, neck, scalp and left hand side. 

It's mostly aggressive on her left leg which I'm struggling to stop her from itching. 

They have her on piriton twice a day but just doesn't ease her leg, she's not drinking much neither which I'm led to believe would help. 

She has a dual hickman so baths are hard.

I feel helpless to my tiny human Disappointed any advice would be amazing. Thank you in advance xx

• Hi zcejc

a warm welcome to the group. So sorry to hear about all you and the wee one are going through. Scary times.

This isn't an area I have any personal experience of so I feel a bit helpless in what I can say to help and support here. My experience lies in supporting my husband with his stage 4 brain tumour journey. I can't begin to imagine how hard it is to see your daughter going through this as I know how hard it is watching my other half.

This is a really safe and supportive group so I am hopeful that someone else will be along with their words of wisdom shortly. I did check the wider MacMIllan site for any information that might be of use to you. Here's the links to what I found The experts in childhood cancer | Advice, resources and support for families affected by childhood cancer | Funding vital research into childhood cancer | Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group (cclg.org.uk)   and Ependymoma | Macmillan Cancer Support. You've perhaps already checked these out.