Daughter diagnosed at 5months old...battling relapse now

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 5 replies
  • 8 subscribers

Hi newbie here, 

my daughter was diagnosed with leukaemia at 5 months old...

At 6 weeks old she started showing signs that something wasn’t right... she had blueberry muffin marks on her skin (we didn’t know that’s what it was at the time) took her to the doctors on more the one occasion and was accused of abuse, she showed low neutrophils and was told this was normal and sent on our way, she was bitten by an insect and nearly died of sepsis a month later.

Fast forward months later and when I took her to a different hospital in a neighbouring city she was diagnosed with AML, she was now 5 months old. We battled 4 rounds of intense chemotherapy and achieved remission in the second round..finishing formal treatment a week before her first birthday in may.

End of august was her first BM test and it had returned.. this time also in her spinal fluid, to say I’m devastated for my now 15month old is an understatement. Currently sat in the hospital room watching her sleep and writing to you all.  We’re waiting still for her count recovery..she’s had her recent lumber puncture which finally is negative for leukaemia cells, so it’s a waiting game to see if her bone marrow will be clear in order to head for BMT.

I am terrified about heading to BMT, I think this is her last chance and I know the process is so dangerous in itself. In truth I’m scared of entering that hospital and her never coming out again. I’m worried that she will be in pain and that she won’t be able to tell me....

• Hi  and welcome to the Online Community, although I am always sorry to see folks finding us and so sorry to hear about your daughters AML diagnosis and that she is moving toward Bone Marrow Transplant.