Losing resilience and hope

• 1 reply
  • 15 subscribers

I am new to this and this is my first attempt at writing this down. I'm 32 and my wife is 30, she has been battling her stage 4 brain cancer for 4 and a half years. First it was inoperable so she had Radio and Chemo and the cancer was gone...a year later it came back, this time surgery and chemo. That brings us to this year less than 6 months since the surgery she had another relapse. Chemo worked for a time but then stopped so she was put on a new chemo, which her Consultant described as 'her last option'. Her symptoms hit her hard, drastic mobility issues and trouble with speech.

The first round of chemo seemed to very slowly improve her symptoms. Second round was delayed due to bad bloods...again it was delayed, bad bloods....so here we are today, awaiting blood test results so she can have another round. Her symptoms are crippling her, over this past weekend she is no longer able to walk herself at all, barely able to use the loo herself and her speech is become hard for most people to understand besides me. 

Both of us are seriously struggling with her rapid decline and she gets very upset when unable to do basic things (for example, pulling herself up in the bed). The ordeal is destroying us. I feel like the last four years have been torture for us (and our loved ones). We have been together for 13 years and married for 2, she is my childhood sweetheart and I could not even comprehend a life without her. I am trying to take on her declining health head on but I feel out of my depth and massively overwhelmed. This coupled with constant fear and anxiety is making it hard for me to keep pushing forward. It is breaking ever fiber of my soul watching her decline. She is trapped in her own mind and her own body. The cancer has only affected her mobility and speech so she is completely aware of everything and trapped.