Just had stem cells harvested

• 11 replies
  • 12 subscribers

Hi, I am on this journey with my husband who was diagnosed with MM the end of December 2022. 
he has just had 2 days of harvesting at KCH. 1st day they only managed to get 1.7 million stem cells but yesterday was a good day and they managed to get 4.5 million. 
We therefore wait for the date for the transplant. 
We would be interested to know of people’s journey and experiences through the process. The ups and downs, no sugar coating. I am an ex ICU nurse and feel the need to know potential bumps in the road. Husband suffers with anxiety so I want to support him as much as I can and my way to do that is to be ultra prepared. 
Thank you all 

• Hi again  and well done putting up your post and welcome to the SCT adventure.

My story is rather complicated (See my story) but I am over 7 years 9 months out from my second SCT and turned 67 last Nov and doing great…… although if you look at my story I did have a few bumps in the SCT process.

Preparing for going through the time in the SCT Unit is important so this old post is a place where group members have collected the things that helped them go through there time in the SCT unit - Checklist for SCT Unit and this link is taken from the Lymphoma Action site but again has some good first hand tips for the SCT process Top tips for stem cell transplants

This is my SCT made simple Wink

Leading up to the actual SCT the patient will have to have treatments to get to a stage where the SCT can proceed.

So 7ish days leading up to the SCT day he/she will have to go through what is called Conditioning, its a method of taking down the bodies Immune System completely.

This is normally done again using some very strong chemotherapy and for some like myself, Radiotherapy..... but I had an Allo SCT.

Once the Immune System is taken down they give the harvested Stem Cells just like getting a blood transfusion usually through a Central Line.