New to all of this.

• 32 replies
  • 52 subscribers

Hi all. 
Hope you are all as well as can be. 
Unfortunately I seem to have joined your exclusive club recently. 

7 weeks ago I was diagnosed with oesophageal cancer which after numerous tests has now shown it’s metastasised to my hip, sacrum and upper spine. 

must admit to this being a bit of a shock and all happening incredibly quickly. 

I start my chemotherapy next week and have radiotherapy as well for my hip to see if it can help with the pain in my leg. I’ll try anything they can throw at me. 

I’ve seen so much hope and positivity on here, but this is my first time actually posting. To be honest I’m not sure what to put or what I expect, but I just thought I’d say hello. 

I told the oncologist that I was going to ruin their statistics and outlive the predicted 18 months. Fingers crossed I do. 

take care all. 
simon. 

• You’ve just reminded me to add a 6 nations rugby match to my bucket list. 

• Hi @Rojan. Somewhat off topic for non rugby fans but never mind - definitely go to a 6 nations match. Tickets aren’t easy to get unless you belong to a rugby club or can get invited through hospitality. Not sure who you support (I am English) but the guaranteed method is to find the authorised company providing ticket and travel packages for your nation - eg England Rugby Travel. You pay through the nose as you have to either buy accommodation or travel along with the match tickets. 

• Hey Simon, from another Simon. You are right, get and take everything, especially any anti sickness, even when you don't feel sick. Challenge everyone politely,  get what you want and remember,  that is so you can make memories. 

It is unfortunately a rush and shock when you get given the news, so it's good to try these forums.

My fiancée and I have drawn up our list to work through, space travel, climbing Everest, etc aren't on it, achievable and realistic and great things are.