New to all of this.

• 32 replies
  • 52 subscribers

Hi all. 
Hope you are all as well as can be. 
Unfortunately I seem to have joined your exclusive club recently. 

7 weeks ago I was diagnosed with oesophageal cancer which after numerous tests has now shown it’s metastasised to my hip, sacrum and upper spine. 

must admit to this being a bit of a shock and all happening incredibly quickly. 

I start my chemotherapy next week and have radiotherapy as well for my hip to see if it can help with the pain in my leg. I’ll try anything they can throw at me. 

I’ve seen so much hope and positivity on here, but this is my first time actually posting. To be honest I’m not sure what to put or what I expect, but I just thought I’d say hello. 

I told the oncologist that I was going to ruin their statistics and outlive the predicted 18 months. Fingers crossed I do. 

take care all. 
simon. 

• Hi chelle. Thank you for you reply. I’m learning while going along on here and have done as you said and clicked on your picture and wow. What a journey you have been on. That last  CT scan result put a huge smile on my face I can only imagine how it must have made you feel. 
    thank you for your positivity, my journey has been a doddle compared to others. 
    will get round to writing my own profile soon. 
    much love 

Simon. 

• Hi portales and thank you for your message. 
    A bit overwhelmed at the responses I’ve had here and again I’ve looked at your profile ( I’ll get round to mine) and again wow. The  journey you have had to get here unbelievable. Stay strong and fighting fit. 
    glad I’m not the only newbie here, but wish it was a different reason we were all here for. 
    take care speak soon. 

• Hi Mmum thanks for replying.