Gardening as therapy for terminal prognosis.

• 21 replies
  • 8 subscribers

Hi everyone.

Apart from enjoying writing poetry, I love my garden, though I'm no expert. I like to get out on my small plot while I am still fit enough as my cervical cancer is now incurable. I am 80 so have slowed down a bit regardless of the cancer, but still fit enough to plant things and do a bit of weeding and hopefully mow the grass on a good day.

My garden was very neglected last year due to having numerous scans and tests at my local hospital to be diagnosed and then having chemo and radiotherapy for 5 weeks at Addenbrookes, plus brachytherapy which meant a short stay in hospital there..I had unpleasant side effects from the latter so could hardly leave my bungalow as needed the loo urgently every few minutes which was exhausting. I am just starting to get my enthusiasm back despite the terminal prognosis. I enjoy sitting outside when it's not too hot, listening to the birds singing, after an hour or two of light gardening. I find it very therapeutic, always have, but even more so now.

I've recently planted up a little 'hot' bed with colourful helenium, echinacea and coreopsis plus some contrasting blue ground cover campanulas.

Another trip to the nursery for some grasses to fill some more gaps  methinks!.

• Well done Nan. It is vital to slow down and keeping yourself busy tho careful and enjoing every moment. The gardening is my hobby too. Even when I was too tired to work, then coming in the garden to watch and listen to the bugs, butterfies, birds was a bit of joy. The garden used to also bring the memories of my beloved nan. I almost felt her soul next to mine when being around of flowers. She used to have pansies on her windowsill.

I send you a love and hug saying you are not alone Heartbeat

Tiga. 
  • [deleted]
    Tiga.