Cancer through covid

• 4 replies
  • 20 subscribers

I feel like a fraud posting on here asking to talk to someone but I am struggling at the moment. My little brother (42) has stopped his treatment for the his Glioblastoma multiform GBM4 he is incredible heroic and has proven doctors wrong to be still here a 18 months post diagnosis (he was told nine months).  My parents are devastated too and not in great health therefore I feel so helpless helping anyone at the moment. As all I do is listen to everyone at a distance thanks to Covid whilst my heart breaks.  Additionally, I am a secondary senior teacher dealing with the ever changing picture of COVID whilst trying to maintain a positive and warm persona for my three children and husband (17,15 and 9). Two of my children have developed anxiety from lockdown and I am doing my best to support them too. Covid has stolen so much from my family through this cancer battle and compounded it further. Inside I feel like a little girl trying to prop up everyone around me and it’s getting so hard and tiring. At present I cognitively still have my brother and talk to him morning and night but know we are about to walk through hell together and I can’t do a thing to stop it except to hold his hand... life can be so cruel at times. Last year during lock down I was so much more positive raising money for Maggies and the Brain cancer charity for him be doing a virtual lands end to John ogroats but this time I am losing my smile. 

• Hi

That's a lot of stuff to be dealing with, and sounds like you are propping up loads of people and need a bit of TLC yourself. If you havent already then I would suggest you join the Carers group for support as it seems to be  an active forum where people will understand what you are up against.

xx

• Thank you I not used to sharing how I feel about this hope you are well xx

• Hi