Loss of confidence and panic following basal cell cancer

• 4 replies
  • 18 subscribers

Thank you for letting me join this group. I just wanted to share that I'm struggling a bit.

The middle of April I had a 28mm  infiltrative carcinoma removed from the tip of my nose (MOHS) and replaced with a skin graft taken from my clavicle. They say the cancer had been there for 18-24 months, but they think they've got all of it out. It's healing really well. Although it's still not looking great, it's already very much better than it was and they say it will continue to improve for another 6 or so months. It's definitely already livable with. 

The issue now is that I seem to have hit an inner emotional block about work. I have lost all confidence and feel I just can't do it anymore. 

I'm a social worker in an hospice. It's the best job I've ever had, with a great client group and colleagues and my managers could not have been more supportive! It is demanding and even before the op I had been getting tired - getting through the week and recovering at the weekends. I'm sure many of you will recognize that pattern! I had wished I could retire (I'm 63) but really it was fine, and I would have kept going for the remaining 2.5 years until retirement, if I hadn't had the cancer. 

As it is, that seems to have toppled me over an edge. After being off work for two months to allow for the wound heal, I am now back at work, but I feel I just can't face it anymore. When I think about taking on the role of social worker again it's like hitting an internal brick wall. I've handed in my notice with all the financial implications of that (income, pension, benefits, etc.). I'm working out my notice just doing admin things. I've registered with an agency to do support worker shift work at a very much lower salary, but less responsibility which I hope will be better.