How to keep working?

• 2 replies
  • 45 subscribers

Hi, 

I'm a teacher in a private school and have been working as normal while my partner has gone through his cancer diagnosis and treatment. School have so far been great at letting me take time out to take him to appointments and be with him when he's had stays in hospital. 

My partner's most recent news is that his cancer has spread, hasn't responded to various treatments or surgeries, and our current line of treatment is the last possible one. We found this out 8 days ago when he was in hospital - I had all of last week off work to be with him and have spent this week at home with him too. Next week is half term so an easy one. 

I dont know how to deal with what comes next work-wise. As far as I can tell schools policy is that 5 days are allowed off for compassionate leave eg with the death of a parent but I can't see anything in any policies that covers my situation. I know the treatment might work, maybe after half term I can go back. Or it might not and he might need more care especially if he gets more unwell. Where do I stand on being able to support him? I've worked too long in this job and prioritised it too much in the past and this is the one key time I dont want to make that mistake again. I also can't imagine trying to get through a school day - I'm not sleeping well and will be on tenterhooks the whole time worrying about him. I don't know if I can teach my subject or pretend to care about it with all this going on in the background. And I know I'll.be more emotional and irrational when dealing with the kids which isn't fair. 

What do I need to ask HR? Are there any options other than just taking unpaid leave which is practical from a caring sense but not financially? 

I'm having to grow up quickly in all this but don't know where to find some of the information I need.

Thankyou