Tired out

• 8 replies
  • 47 subscribers

We are really are at the start of this horrible journey husband stage 4 with mets. 
he is too weak as yet for chemo and will be having radiotherapy 12 days in the next two weeks, after which they will decide if he can have chemo.

My problem is I feel exhausted already and we are only a couple of months in. I had two brain haemorrhages in 2016 and have an untreated aneurysm in a difficult place, good news it hasn’t grown. I have fibromyalgia,three years ago I had a total knee replacement which has gone wrong. I am still under the hospital but anything they can do is on hold because of this situation. My knee gives me a lot of pain and is worse than my other knee which has arthritis. Sorry if this sounds like a poor me story, I don’t mean it to be. 

I’m  sure you understand, I am now a full time nurse for my husband dispensing medications, washing, dressing, cooking, cleaning, shopping, driving to appointments etc. I do it willingly as I love him very much and wish it was me instead of him, it’s dreadful to see him turn into an old man before my eyes. But I’m so tired, I’m dragging up the energy from nowhere, I feel burnt out already. I’m at a bit of a loss asi only want to care for him as well as possible.

• I understand exactly how tired you are - and I luckily have no significant health concerns of my own. It really is draining both physically and mentally. I have no advice to pass on as I’m living the same kind of life, but wanted to reply anyway. Best wishes to you.

• I'm so sorry to read about your story. It's tough being a full time carer when you have your own health issues. 

I'm not sure what help is available. I remember my dads palliative care nurse has asked if we needed help, I vaguely remember she mentioned carers help is available. We didn't explore this option cos are managing ok. Maybe speak to your GP and see if any support is available?