How do I become stronger?

• 3 replies
  • 45 subscribers

Hello. I've just joined and I'm looking for a bit of advice.

My partner of 21 years has just been diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. He also has a partially collapsed lung and many blood clots.  This is completely out of the blue and needless to say, it has rocked our world.  He is continuing to work at the moment, although he can hardly walk and finds it hard to breathe because of coughing and breathlessness. 

I, however, can't stop crying. I've taken the week off work to try to come to terms with the news.  I can't concentrate and honestly don't think I can return to work next week.  I feel so weak and feeble because it's not me who had the cancer! 

I have so many unanswerable questions going through my head.  I suppose my question is, how do you all stay strong for your loved ones?  Is taking more time off work acceptable? I'm a teacher and the thought of standing in front of my class is terrifying. I think I'll just be a blubbering mess! Not ideal when working with children.  Thanks in advance for any advice.  

• Hi Sara

a warm welcome to the online community. So sorry to hear about all that you and your partner are going through. Life's too cruel.

I can empathise with all the emotions you are going through. I'm supporting my husband through his stage 4 brain tumour journey. He was first diagnosed in Sept 2020 and the past three years have been an emotional rollercoaster ride. 

Let's set your mind at rest about one thing here - all these emotions you are feeling are perfectly normal so please do not be too hard on yourself here. You've had a tremendous shock here too and it takes time to process that information. It takes time and it takes as long as it takes. You're not weak and you're not feeble. You are coping so much better here than you give yourself credit for. (You'll just need to trust me on that.)