Why

• 7 replies
  • 45 subscribers

Hi, this is my first time posting. I am trying to support my partner who has pancreatic cancer. I am so incredibly angry as it has taken so so long to finally get a diagnosis. Only to be told that the only option is palliative chemo if an oncologist thinks he is able. We started this journey 9 months ago when he suddenly became diabetic. Since then we have had to push and push to get seen, get tests and to be taken seriously. 3 months ago we were told that it was probably cancer but we were refused more tests as this was a watch and wait situation… seriously. Now after another scan and biopsy they have decided yes the tumour is cancerous and has more than doubled in size. The pancreatic consultant has still not formally told us. We were told by my partners diabetes consultant.  I need strength to support my partner but right now all I feel is rage and sadness.   How can I get the medical professionals to act. I fear we are sleepwalking into disaster. I will not give up on him. Why have they.

• I know exactly what you mean. It makes you want to scream at them. My partner became ill at the end of last year, she lost a huge amount of weight very quickly and was tired and listless all the time. I eventually managed to get her an appointment and they sent her away with a prescription for anti depressants. I really had to keep pushing for some attention for her, I knew something was not right. To cut a long story short, she was diagnosed with terminal cancer in march, and died in may. I still have an incredible amount of anger. Just keep on at them, you have to. I know its draining, but you really have to be relentless. sending you hugs and strength xx