Hi - New to husbands cancer

• 9 replies
  • 47 subscribers

Hi All,

Don't normally use online forums but I'm new to all this and it's come on suddenly.  My husband was diagnosed with Bile Duct Cancer a few months ago but so far has had no treatment.  He was kept in hospital after going for some scans when they discovered jaundice and while there (but when I wasn't with him) they told him he had Bile Duct Cancer and it appears to have spread.  He then went into another hospital about a month ago - this was for an endoscoy ultrasound and biopsy and again they kept him in - this time for 4 days as he had very low blood pressure 94/54 and an infection.  When he came out they said they would be in touch through the multidisciplinary team.  2 weeks later and he was called by his GP for a blood test and then had phone call to ask if he could come in on 22nd September for his results.  He has also just received a letter with an appointment for the Oncology Dept on 18th September.  He has been told chemo will not cure him but might delay the inevitable.

Sorry that's the background.  Now I don't know what to feel, think or do.  Since he's been back home all he does is lay on the settee or on bed.  He's tired all the time but appears to be in good spirits.  Friends and family keep asking how he is and all I can say is he's the same.  But I miss my husband, I miss the laughs we had together even just watching tv, I miss doing things with him, I miss going to our local Ham Radio Club and taking part in their events.  And the worse thing is I feel guilty for missing them, for looking at what my life is going to be like without him.  Some days are fine and I can get along but today is bad.  I'm in tears writing this and feeling I should be OK cos I'm not the one going through the cancer.  I don't think I really know what to do or think.  

I'm not even sure why I felt the need to write this