Today felt a bit much

• 4 replies
  • 45 subscribers

Hello.  I’m just new to this, today it all got a bit much for me and I felt I needed somewhere to put down how I’m feeling.

To give some context I help look after my mum who was diagnosed with a soft tissue sarcoma a couple of years ago, to then be told she also had tumours in her lungs. Treatment has not gone very great, each thing that’s been tried has had little to no success. But there has always been a plan. And when there’s a plan you can look forward and keeping moving. But now she has reached a stage where there’s been more complications and hospital visits and the plans have stopped for now. I don’t know what’s next. And that scares me. 

Mum is tired a lot now and struggles to get out and about, which as a family we find challenging because we are used to doing so much together. I also feel a lot of guilt for this as well, I hate leaving her in the house alone. But equally find it challenging being at home all the time because I don’t know how to make it better. And my fear is everyone’s mental health will begin to take a toll. It’s hard to know what to do for the best sometimes. 

• You're not alone in how you feel. In fact, it's quite normal, in this very abnormal situation that you find yourself in. I feel the same. I can't really offer any advice, or a miracle cure, or to wake you up from the situation you're in, but you've found a good place to come and be supported here when you need it.

I think that taking time for your mum, and time for yourself is the correct blend. Look after yourself in order to look after your mum.

• Thank you, I appreciate your kind words. It helps knowing I’m not alone in how I feel, however sad that others are going through such difficult times too. 

• Hi!