Struggling daughter

• 2 replies
  • 44 subscribers

Hi,

So I'm new to all of this, not really sure what I'm doing!

Brief summary, mam (63) retired 1/4/22, diagnosed with endometrial cancer few weeks later. Very advanced. Primary tumour size of a football, spread to lungs, breast, abdomen, lymph nodes. Hormone therapy. Surgery not an option, chemo/radio to manage symptoms if appropriate as symptoms worsen. 

3 weeks after this, dad diagnosed with throat cancer. Surgery not an option. 6 months palliative prognosis. Dad has existing health conditions. 

Not sure why I'm here, but I know I now need some sort of help!

Dad has started having bleeding from his throat last few days, meaning I'm washing bedding daily. 

I live locally, with my 2 teenage kids, my husband works away, but currently home most weekends. 

I have some details for a macmillan nurse, and I know they're all there to help, I just don't know what help looks like, and what is available!

Having difficulty getting enough of the Fortisip drinks from GP, only being given 10-15 bottles at a time, but dad now having 3+ a day. Also oramorph, going through a bottle in about 3 days, in addition to his zomorph x2 per day. 

Who do I even ask to get things made a bit easier? 

Feel as though I just can't catch my breath at the moment, but is help available for me as their carer (I'm off work with stress right now, not surprisingly really!) ? I'm just feeling a bit lost and out of my depth, but I want to do as much as possible to help any way I can.

Leaving the home isn't an option for dad, he is where he is happy and where he wants to be, which we all support and agree with. 

Is there anywhere I can go to get anything that will possibly provide some sort of bedding protection, to at least prevent me needing to wash the bedding every day? 

I realise this probably sounds so minor, I'm just exhausted!

Sorry if this isn't the right place to ask, or in asking the wrong things, I'm so new to this! 

Laura xx