I think it’s finally hit me

• 2 replies
  • 45 subscribers

Hi everyone,

I posted on here a while ago when we first had my partner’s diagnosis of stage 3 bowel cancer. Everything has gone okay so far, has had his surgery and had 10 days in hospital. That was around 9 weeks ago. When he came out of hospital, his parents came to stay with us for 2 weeks and they were so helpful. They really took a lot of the load in terms of caring for him (I will mention he is 30 and I am 27, we live alone in London and all our family are in the North). 

I am a teacher and continued to work throughout this time. Work were great and allowed me to go to school in the morning and then go to the hospital in the afternoon. I had exam classes so felt like I couldn’t just abandon my students.

We have had so much positivity, lots of people commenting on how they’re amazed we’ve kept going and how positive we’ve been so far.

Yesterday, my partner started his first round of Oxaliplatin and we have no family here at the moment. Again, I felt fine until I got home and realised how much medication he now has to take. I am feeling really overwhelmed by the situation, more so than the surgery. I think it’s the unknown of it all. I am not sleeping well and I’m worried about giving in and ‘not being positive’ about it all. I also know that after this, he will be fine. The surgery removed the tumour. We don’t have any family/ others to care for so I’m feeling like I should be able to cope with this and work. I don’t want him to see me upset as it’s just the 2 of us!

Sorry for the very long message. I’m just not sure who to turn to!

• Hi

You write with great clarify as we might expect from a teacher - not at all bad when we consider how much else is going on for you.