I can't believe I'm posting here but here goes.....

• 21 replies
  • 44 subscribers

Hi

this is my first post and to be honest I can't really believe I am writing this. 

On 26 August this year my husband told me he needed to speak to me about something and dropped the bombshell that he'd been to the doctor behind my back and had a CT scan which had shown something in his brain. That was at 8am. He had an appointment for 1pm that day for a further CT scan and an MRI. By 5pm, he'd asked me to meet him outwith the house and the hearing our son.  We arranged a place to meet about a mile from the house and as I walked along the road my mind was imagining all sorts.  I'm an author and even I couldn't create the horror story that has unfolded in the weeks since.

As I sat in the passenger seat of the car, my husband told me that he'd had it confirmed that he had a primary brain tumour located in the Broca's area of his brain. My heart broke for him, for our kids and I guess for me a bit too. It was a primary brain tumour that had killed his mother in 1993 -  a death and an experience he's never really got over if he's being honest with himself.

On 2 September we celebrated our silver wedding anniversary. On 2 September he got a call to say that the neurosurgeon's at INS Glasgow had discussed his case and weren't going to waste time with a biopsy. They were opting for a craniotomy and a provisional date of 9 September was given. Not the anniversary gift either of us expected.