Angry about my husbands diagnosis

• 20 replies
  • 43 subscribers

Hi All, 

I'm new to this site and have probably posted today in the wrong place!  Anyway, my lovely hubby has had a bowel cancer diagnosis and has just has his first palliative chemotherapy.  He is being positive, strong and going with the flow. Me? Despite being a nurse myself, I am devastated, angry, scared and unbelievably sad.  I was due to retire and our plans have just....gone.  I’m ashamed of myself that I keep breaking down and not being stronger myself. How do I learn to live for the day? How do I be ‘the strong one’ instead of the jibbering wreck I have become? Does anyone have any words of wisdom please? 

• Hi thank you I really need that hug tonight! We have now fallen out over another hospital blunder! Today’s appointment was a mistake! No one there to do chemo tomorrow and he hasn’t had enough folic acid as I queried!!! At the moment I am crying buckets because he thinks I should accept all these mistakes and I am struggling with it because I trained when these sort of things mattered and they still do to me! My asthma is awful because of the stress! I have booked a Dr appointment for myself on weds, my next day off! I am taking my emergency high dose prednisone! I am so scared about him dying in that hospital and I know some of it is because I haven’t really managed my first husbands death! 
    I am so pleased your husbands treatment is going well. I hope you are getting support too! 
    It sounds terrible but I just want it all to be over! I can cope with looking after a poorly dying man but not all this treatment that I am struggling to understand and all this prolong life thing! Not sure I can really see the point if someone is having stuff that makes them ill!!! 
    sending you a big hug back xxx