Caregiver Depression

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 31 replies
  • 48 subscribers

Hello, folks,

I am new to this beautiful, safe and supportive community. I am Lisa and I used to work as a graphic designer for a small educational start up. Used to develop designs for K12 syllabus and stuff. My fiance was diagnosed with lung cancer. The usual small squabbles about fulfilling our engagement into a wedded affair turned to long visits to hospitals and frankly just so much new information and learning. I was reading tons about cancer and the medical realities and of course the chances of survival etc. The doctor was very supportive. I did find caregiving blogs especially soothing and reading others stories made me feel heard. But even though i was feeling completely supportive and in the journey, i began to feel pockets of sadness and i was feeling the need to just shut myself in my room. I was afraid that my partner was going to get a wind of this. That was when i also began reading psychology esp books that looked at motivations and stressors of depression and anxiety like Psychological Science when i found description of caregiver depression and it started making sense to me. I am now attempting to walk the thin balance of not feeling guilty but also offering support without overextending. IT is so difficult. I was looking to see if someone could share their insights if they have gone through it too?

• Hi Niobe

I am getting this from my 25 year old son  its constant criticism bickering and kinder I am to him worse I get it back. Its killing me 

Xx

Hayley