Breast cancer treatment and career choices

• 1 reply
  • 16 subscribers

I wanted to share my story about the impact cancer had on my career and also hear from other women about their experiences and decisions around work during and after their breast cancer treatment. 

I was diagnosed with bilateral breast cancer at 41 and I decided to continue working throughout my treatment - besides the time I took off to recover from my mastectomies, and then breast reconstructions. At the time of my diagnosis, my son was 2ys.  

I am an academic researcher which means my post is funded by research grants and is not a permanent one.  My role allowed me to work flexibly during my treatment and I was not given any teaching responsibilities during that time.  Being able to work flexibly allowed me to continue working, which was a lifeline as it gave me purpose and escapism during a difficult time.  In the long term though I felt penalized and ejected from the team.  Chemotherapy and then the hormone suppression therapy and Letrozole caused considerable brain fog and fatigue, which meant I could not work as hard or to the same standard as before and even though I managed to meet my deadlines and achieve objectives, I did not keep up with the networking and continuous planning for the next project which is necessary for being a researcher.  I later realised that even though my line manager was on the surface encouraging, they were not including me in any future project proposals and when my current contract came to an end this was the excuse for me becoming redundant.