New to this site

• 5 replies
  • 12 subscribers

Hi,

I am 42, married, "grown up" child and was diagnosed with triple negative BC 23/12/20 (as if 2020 wasn't bad enough). I am 4 cycles thru 9 cycles of chemo and the having surgery and radio. Fortunately the lump has reacted well to chemo and there had been some shrinkage. So, why do I still feel so sad sometimes?

Someone else on here said that they sometimes seem to forget the cancer and then it just pops in to your head, that's true for me too! I even forget sometimes that I've got no hair, then realise that I've only got a bit of stubble!

I don't think not seeing people has helped me. I haven't been to work since diagnosis (I'm a nurse in a high risk area). My family and friends try but non of them have any experience of this.

I am still awaiting the results of my genetic tests too, which is a worry.

Sorry, I don't know what I'm asking or what I want anyone to say. I'm awake due to steroids and needed to get all this out of my head.

Xx

• Hi Roses21 That is so good to hear that the lump is shrinking. But I am not surprised you are having moments of sadness. Your emotions will be all over the place at the moment. I too have been through the genetic testing process, so I know how stressful that is. 

The Macmillan support line is there for you if you ever need someone to talk too. It is a free phone number and they are available 7 days a week from 8am until 8pm on 0808 808 00 00. 

Wishing you all the best with the rest of your treatment x 

Chelle 

Try to be a rainbow,in somebody else's cloud
    Maya Angelou

Community Champion badge
  • Hi Chelle,

Thank you for your reply. I hope you are on the other side and that everything is OK?

It's such a roller-coaster of emotions isn't it?!

Roses xx

• I need to update my profile to include my genetic testing story, but if you click on my picture it will take you to my profile where you can read some of my journey.