BRCA2 and Life insurance

• 2 replies
  • 8 subscribers

Hi all,

I'm 26 and recently found out I am BRCA2 positive. I'm hoping for some advice around insurance if you are happy to share your experiences. 

I've recently bought a house with my partner and feel it's really important to have life insurance and critical illness cover to protect him financially. I believe I have to disclose the results of genetic testing but I'm very new to all of this!

In your experience, did companies refuse to insure you or add exclusions or extra costs for ovarian/breast cancer cover to your policies? 

If you've had a good experience with a health insurance company please let me know their name and I'll look them up. Otherwise,  would you recommend going through an insurance broker? 

Thanks in advance! 

• Hi BriM_94

I might be wrong, but I think insurance companies are not allowed to discriminate against people that have had genetic testing. Knowing you have a mutation is a positive not a negative piece of information. You can disclose that you have had the testing and they will hold it on record, but it should not push your premium through the roof because of it.