Remembering too much..

• 8 replies
  • 26 subscribers

I have always had an excellent memory and people often comment on my recall of dates, instances, conversations and the smallest of details etc.

As we are now approaching 11 month since I lost my beloved husband I am finding it such hard going... as more recent dates all evoke memories of last year's awfulness: the massive haemorrhaging, ambulances, pain and the sheer horror of it all is hitting me harder now than it did at the time when I was coping  with it single handedly, whilst knowing my husband was deteriorating but no one at the cancer centre was listening. 

I feel like it's all on a reel of film that has stuck on replay as I see it all in fast motion like a bloody nightmare!

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Dear Pooka,

So sorry to hear about how you are feeling.   Can you think about holidays both of you have enjoyed, recall happy trips or nice times.   How was your wedding day?   Sorry I’m not very good at writing, what I’m trying to say I wonder by thinking of past happy memories hopefully over time bad ones will fade.   Wishing that reel of film is replaced with nice memories and peace.

Peter x

• Thanks Peter 

I think it's all the more difficult because it's all the initial dates coming up, the ones that heralded the start of the end...

Today for example (6th Aug) marks a year  that my husband was blue lighted (again) into hospital an occasion that was so traumatic for him, me and the ambulance crew that dealt with him. 

I know, or at least HOPE that in time the dates will lose their significance... Hopefully once I pass the first anniversary of losing him which was also a couple of days before my birthday, then I will be able to dwell more on the happier dates and memories.

x

• Dear Pooka