I’m about...

• 6 replies
  • 28 subscribers

...to go to the love of my life’s funeral. I’m sat here alone (by choice) waiting on his family and mine arriving ahead of the hurst.

I have been remarkably calm so far. Calm before the storm.

I have been dreading today, despite lots of people telling me it’s David’s day, a time to celebrate his life. Well the truth is I’m not ready to celebrate his life being over so I remain the same, dreading it!

I am mechanically (for now) getting through the day, FOR David.

I didn’t sleep and then finally goodness knows what time I drifted off but was woke early by my phone pinging many messages from well meaning thoughtful friends. Should have turned it off last night so my mistake.

I then got up, put on my dressing gown, made coffee and sat in my very quiet living room listening to a meditation practice. I’m not good at meditation, only tried a few times and find switching off so so hard! Weirdly today I managed it and it was very peaceful and relaxing.

That went on for a while thankfully but stopped when my sister telephoned and my neighbour knocked on my door, exactly the same time!

Then I was back awake, knew it was time to get ready. Took my time about this and I’m wearing only a touch of waterproof mascara!

In a strange way, this calmness I’m feeling makes me wonder if I’ll keep tears at bay today!?! I’ve certainly cried a river over these past two months during Dave’s illness and after his passing. Maybe folks will wonder why I’m not crying! Though for once in my life, and I’m hoping this continues, I really don’t care what anyone thinks!!! I simply don’t care about anything right now.

However, I’m sure I will cry anyway but I’m just ‘being’ right now and so far today, this day I never wanted to come (not only is it way too soon with Dave being 52, but I told him repeatedly I was to go first!!) but yes so far I’m calm. I just need to get through today somehow and this is how so far.

Nearly time...

Xx