One year on and doing OK

• 5 replies
  • 25 subscribers

I have stepped back from this forum in the last couple of months, mainly because I got tied up with having surgery and recovering. and also because time has changed things.  

I graduated from the Partners of someone who is terminally ill to the Bereaved group in Feb 2020. The first group helped me make sense of the turbulence. My partner facing death and us facing separation. It helped me have somewhere to express my feelings to people who understood. Friends who have not been through it - mean well but can be a pain in the arse with things like questions, advice suggestions and anecdotes of Auntie  So and So who bravely fought cancer and won by drinking her own urine and staring at the moon. One friend even told me that we "thought about things too much" -when I said that he had was struggling facing death. 

Then joining the bereaved group was being welcomed to a group non of us want  to be in.  It was valuable to share the horror, confusion and conflicting emotions and was my anchor in the first lock down. I felt more at home in the group than in the outside world. Gentle kindness and understanding that it is ok to have all sorts of thoughts and feelings. And to help me just ride through the chaos of the first year. 

The one year anniversary of my partner was an important milestone. I am doing things that did not seem possible 11 months ago. I can sleep in my bedroom. Have had it decorated and moved it around. I have a very small house so cant store or hoard, so I have passed on most of his clothes and given lots of his possessions away to people that wanted  and use them. I have felt OK cursing him for some of the mess he left - not dating the will, leaving festering mess in his car, one million gadgets and cables that are a mystery, locked computers and no passwords. I have a wall of photos that are about him and us. I wear his 'Fuck Cancer' tee-shirt in bed.