Bad or uncomfortable dreams

• 2 replies
  • 15 subscribers

I lost my mum four months ago and miss her terribly, she was given an operation by a professor who thought he could give her a chance by removing the cancer which was unsuccessful and left her with large open wounds which I dressed as I’m a nurse myself along with district nurses, however the tumour started to grow in place of the open wound. I miss my mum terribly she was my best friend and truly was my soul mate. I’m not complaining in any sort of seeing my mum in dreams it’s the only chance I get to see her. But the dreams are her saying she’s scared of the operation, or what happens if it doesn’t work and I know in the dream it doesn’t. Last night I had a dream that I showered my mum and her wounds were all over her body and she had holes in her everywhere. It’s left me feeling physically sick and so emotional, knowing the pain my mum suffered. Is this a thing anyone else has had the uncomfortable dreams?xx

• Hello Jjmpaimp

I am very sorry to hear that you lost your Mum 4 months ago. I lost my own Mum to cancer many years ago now and can understand how raw everything feels and how much you miss her, especially being so close to her. 

I did find at the time I did have some pretty bad dreams. I have also experienced them through my own cancer journey. I think the thing with dreams is that at the time they can feel so real and when they are about someone we love that sadness and emotional feeling can linger when we wake and remember the dream.

I think that sometimes for me it was my greatest fears that were being expressed through the dreams and subconsciously maybe I needed to work through those fears and to indeed process the whole cancer experience.