My Atheism

• 7 replies
  • 12 subscribers

I am an atheist, a phrase that sounds like standing up at an AA meeting to say you have an alcohol problem, but actually I'm proud of my disbelief.   I was raised as a Catholic by a family of lapsed Catholics, but God and Jesus were presented to me as facts, and I became an atheist as soon I knew there was such a thing, only to get sucked into a Hinduism based meditation cult with full on brainwashing in the early 80's, before escaping in 1985 and returning to Atheism. I studied Humanism as a philosophy discipline on going to university as a mature student, and ran a Humanism group and edited its newsletter for over a decade.  I still see myself as atheist, secular humanist, existentialist and sceptic.   Death and suffering to me scream that there is no God, certainly no loving one. I hate how after an earthquake kills 1,000's a live baby found in the rubble is declared a miracle detracting from the work of the human rescuers and ignoring how the God)s) slaughtered so many at all.  Covid likewise says no God could allow this. 

Now I'm caving into bowel cancer, (not yet 100% diagnosed but medics tell me it is increasingly likely. I have revealed my fate to various family and friends, (not all) and many reflexively tell me they are praying for me and my recovery. Angered at their wasted energy, though also touched that it proves they at least care 

• Hi Forester42, I agree with what you said, except that you are more tolerant than I am with the praying stuff.  I used to go along out of courtesy, now I realise that might be problematic.  The World could have been a better place.

Even if their Gods existed, shouldn't we be condemning the monsters instead?  The notion of worshipping any monster is perverse and disturbing to say the least.  It's like a mental illness.  We all need some imagination in life, but that's just going too far into insanity.