Hiccup in surgery

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 6 replies
  • 86 subscribers

Hi, 

I’m really new to this but feel there is such an amazing wealth of knowledge on here. 

my mum was diagnosed with grade 1 endometrial cancer. None aggressive. Full hysterectomy would have done the trick, it was all going to plan, but as they were lifting the womb out, some scar tissue from a csection tore a hole in the womb. The surgeon cleaned and flushed it out. He’s 99% sure he got it all. But oncology have now upgraded it to 3a because technically it’s now not contained within the womb even though it had never got to the ovaries/tubes/cervix etc. 

mum is yet to meet oncology, but I think they are thinking chemo and radiation. Mums not keen to have that for something that she may not actually have. Has anyone experienced anything similar? We’re still feeling quite positive because as the surgeon said, it’s still a none aggressive grade 1 cancer. He seems confident he got it all too. 

• Hi . I’m sorry that you had to find yourself here but like to offer you and your Mum a warm welcome to our little corner of the Online Community to the Womb cancer group. Here you will find a lovely group of supportive ladies who are all at the start, in the middle, or at the end of the  same rollercoaster ride so it’s good to hear that your Mum's operation has taken place but there was a little mishap due to the scar tissue from a C-Section. Hopefully your Mum's making good progress and healing well.

Once the report from Histology has been received the Oncology team will meet to discuss if adjuvant treatment is necessary .It seems quite often unless it's clearly Stage 1a grade 1, (low grade totally confined to the womb) there's always the chance they'll offer further treatment as an insurance to prevent recurrence. Perhaps some other ladies here have had the same experience