Papillary cancer - operation questions questions questions

• 7 replies
  • 24 subscribers

Hi, I am new here. I was diagnosed on Monday with Papillary cancer and have got my operation on 26th March. Very thankful it is being dealt with so quick. I am looking at a likely full thyroid removal and then RIA later on. My questions are:

RECOVERY - Initially my doctor said 2 weeks off work, when I told him I was a personal trainer he quickly said minimum 4 weeks....from what I have read the fatigue seems really intense so 4 weeks would seem realistic? 

SLEEP - Post op I imagine it might be difficult to get comfortable to sleep...does anyone have any advice, I thought about getting a V shaped maternity pillow?! 

EXERCISE - I do like to stay active and go to the gym. Obviously all lifting is out of the question for some time. How long was it until you felt ready to get out for a walk?

DRIVING - I read it's 2 weeks until you can drive again - is this realistic?

Any other advice would be welcome, I have 2 kids age 12 & 9 so just trying to get my head around what's to come so they can stay in routine as much as possible. Slight smile

• Hello, 

I had two operations as the biopsies were inconclusive but suggestive of cancer. My turned out to be Hurtle Cell. 
    the first hemithyroidectomy 13/11/2024 went well.Day case surgery. Minimal pain but I still had some analgesia for the first week. Mine was a day case and I was told 2 weeks off work. I felt very tired so took three weeks but I am in my 50s with a mainly sedentary job. I probably should have taken 4 weeks.

The second operation (22/01/2024) again was not very painful and went well. I was kept in due to low calcium, I’m a nurse and don’t rest well in a hospital ward, so I was more tired when I got home.

I have been exhausted this time which I think is due to the Levothyroxine. I went back to work after 6 weeks on reduced hours and finding it difficult to stay awake sone days.