Waiting (the beginning of my journey)

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 27 replies
  • 14 subscribers

Hi,

I hope you don't mind me posting but I have just started out on what I believe is going to be the beginning of my TC journey.

I have been receiving intermittent pain in  my left testicle for about 10 months, accompanied by weakness in my left leg. My GP initially referred me for physiotherapy and only felt around my groin. Fast forward 9 months and I had a full blown anxiety attack which forced me back to the doctors. My GP this time was great, checked my testicle and whilst they said it felt fine referred me for a ultrasound to ease my anxiety.

That takes me to today, I had the ultrasound on Friday and the technician was not happy, explained to me that there were 4 shadows on the offending testicle the largest being a shade under 2cm. He said not to lose any sleep but to contact my GP for an urgent urologist appointment. He said it could be an infection but I got the impression that was to put my mind at ease.

When I spoke to my GP she said they need to rule out the possibility of a tumour and may need a biopsy. I'll be honest I'm expecting the worst given how quick the scans were sent to my gp and getting contacted (good news never seems to travel fast in the medical world).

I don't think the tc worries me, I mean the odds are in  my favour right? It's more how this will affect my family, I have two young daughters who deserve a great summer off school and I fear I'm not going to be able to give them it. I'm also worried that due to the length of time this has been going on I'm in for the long haul.

What has been strange is aside from my anxiety my symptions haven't changed over the past 10 months, pain hasn't worsened, no swelling etc.

Anyways, thanks for indulging me. If nothing else it helps me to get it off  my chest.

• Hi Anxious CS,