My son started BEP 5 day Chemo today.

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 4 replies
  • 7 subscribers

So after a whirlwind 45 days from seeing his dr my son is starting chemo today.   He is an in patient at a Cancer hospital.   He is 20 years old.   

I am a teacher ... he has told me he has to self isolate for 3 weeks after coming out of hospital on Saturday.   The question is do I have to, he is living back at home at the moment.  He is beginning his 3 yr at uni but we have spoken to them and he is continuing at home until he feels he go back.

Do his dad and I have to self isolate?   any help or guidance would be great.

• He will be very vulnerable to any kind of infection or disease until his blood count gets back to near normal. When I was in that situation my wife, daughter and I didn't self isolate but we practiced very strict social distancing in our bubble of three.

I would suggest teaching in a school and having any kind of contact with him for the three weeks would be very risky.

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi somebodysmum, 

From personal experience I would recommend that you be cautious. I went in for my first 5 day BEP in February, the following week my daughter had a bit of a cold but nothing we thought too much off. Anyway, I ended up in hospital with neutropenic sepsis and pneumonia (it was far worse than the chemo).

I think the advice from Teahupo is very good and with the risk of COVID then I would definitely encourage you to be careful. 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to Teahupo

Thank you for your reply and apologies for not getting back to you sooner.  Its been a whirlwind week.   The update is that we dont have to isolate - but he does for 14 days from coming out of hospital yesterday.   We are practicing very strict social distancing and my work have been really good and I can have time off if required - by the looks of it I think the vulnerable will be shielding again shortly.  

• FormerMember