Anyone else had to have a second op?

• 18 replies
  • 24 subscribers

I'm really panicking ás my second op draws near. I had a bcc removed in Feb and bilobal flap repair which has healed really well and scars not too bad. Unfortunately, they didn't get it all out and I have to go back soon (hopefully) for a second op and skin graft. Doc said that this time it won't be cosmetically as good but it has to be done as the cancer is aggressive and will grow. He said it was only a few cells left behind. It's been a horrible time waiting, hoping and yet dreading the call, and I'm really scared that I'll have a badly misshapen nose and people will start. Anybody else had similar and can hopefully reassure me that I won't look like Voldemort! 

• Sorry Woodsider I replied to myself  I'm not very tech savvy.

How's your nose feeling?

• Hi Woodsider Just wondering how you were feeling after your second operation. These damn basal cells are such a nuisance to us.  I was discharged yesterday from my 2, the process started end of November.  I feel today as bad as I did at the very beginning as feel alone now.  I felt throughout my Consultant was a phone call away but now, he is, but he says he has done his job, things are fine and get on with my life as normal.  Think all the emotions of the last 6 months have caught up with me.  I will feel good about everything, I hope soon.  Good Luck with your recovery and keep in touch, we are on this journey together xx

• Hi Harlyn

I can totally understand how you feel about not seeing your consultant.

I think they become our security.

Mine was done via the NHS and I think I'll get a two year follow up but if not I've decided I'm going to go private for a once a year check up. I'm dreading being discharged because like you I'll feel alone.

I have been told though, that those feelings gradually go away in time.

I think when we know we are still having checkups we feel safe