New here

• 6 replies
  • 162 subscribers

Hi, my name is James and I’m just starting out on this journey. I’d be having some symptoms of PC for many months and thought that at 57 I was growing old, Getting up in the night to pee, flow problems etc. 

I finally saw my doctor in May who examined me and suggested I should have a PSA test. That was done 2 weeks later. I should have been concerned that he was back on the phone within 24 hrs saying it was high and he’d start the 2 week pathway. 

I was in shock and hadn’t really understood what was happening until I spoke to the Urology team who confirmed my PSA score of 135. She suggested a second test which came back at 148. 

Since then I’ve tried to read as much as I can and realise I’ve got a fight on my hands.

Ive had a CT scan and subsequently met with the consultant who has diagnosed  T3. I’ve now had a biopsy which is another post for another time, a bone scan, daily hormone treatment and my first hormone injection. 

It’s fair to say things are moving incredibly quickly which in its own right terrifies me but I have my final consultation this Thursday where I hope to understand the Gleason score, whether it’s spread and what treatment options are available. 

I’ve been reading these forums which I’ve found incredibly helpful and supportive but the not knowing is beyond worrying and I’m finding the stress of it is taking it’s toll.

Best wishes to everyone who is navigating this too. 

• Hi Jim, you have come to the right place and better than Google for info, as this is where you will get information from those who are going through and have been through this experience first hand. You will get lots of replies from the wonderful guys and gals on this fantastic site.