Testosterone levels

• 6 replies
  • 110 subscribers

I've been on 3 monthly Zoladex jabs for the last 3 years, and recently I've experienced a couple of unexpected sexyal urges! Could my testosterone levels have started to increase, and if so, can I ask my practice nurse to do a blood test to assess levels? I'm due a PSA next week with my next jab. Any advice gratefully appreciated, thanks.

BAS

• Hi Bas

I'm not an expert, but can't see any reason why you couldn't ask for a testosterone check, at the same time as your planned PSA. 

Regards

Stuart

Trying to get fit again!
  • Hi Bas

I agree with Stuart above. Ask for both a Testosterone & PSA test at the same time.

I know you are a Gleason 9 (welcome to the Number 9 club Angry) and have been under the knife to have the prostate removed, have you had any meetings with surgery in the 3 years since the operation or are you just under the GP now?

Kind Regards

Brian.

Community Champion badge

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

Strength, Courage, Faith, Hope, Defiance, VICTORY.

I am a Macmillan volunteer.

• Hi Brian,

You're right, I'm in the Gleason 9 (4+5) club, T2 N0 M0 unfortunately but I've not had a prostatectomy. I was offered radiotherapy at diagnosis in 2020 but opted for HT for life on Zoladex. So far iJoyseems to be doing its job, but I'm just a bit worried about testosterone levels possibly rising. So in about a week's time I'll get my lovely practice nurse to get the level checked along with the uJoyal PSA check. I think I'll ask for a anemia check as well as I often feel like nodding off these days, mind you, I am 79 in a few weeks time!!Joy 

Regards

BAS

• Hi Bas

Thanks for the reply - I am not a medical man but I am aware those pesky little blighters can after a period of time overcome the hormone therapy and your testosterone can start to rise again!