Recovery from RALP

• 6 replies
  • 112 subscribers

Hi All, 12 days on from my op I'm just beginning to feel normal again. I'm due to have my catheter removed on Friday. The operation went really well and I was home the following day. The information I  was given before hand was fabulous. Although I was given plenty information about the recovery period, I was perhaps a little naïve about the actual affects of the drugs, constipation and catheter related infections/problems. None of which I had any experience before. I understand how we all react differently but having some mild laxatives and say, KY jelly (medical grade if possible) in the cupboard would have certainly made life easier. Anyway, onward and forward. Keep positive and keep asking. Wallyyyy

• Glad you're feeling a bit better and good luck with getting the catheter out on Friday.

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery and today is a gift.
    Seamus
    (See my profile for more)
  • Thanks Seamus, nice thoughts. I had a good one yesterday... I was out with the dog for 10 mins yesterday (first time), when my catheter leg bag burst..... lucky I had my wellies on.

Wallyyyy

• Hi Wally - That made me chukkle - I had an indwelling catheter for 10 months and I had two "leg bag incidents" both times out with our two dogs and both times - no wellies only walking boots - and both times over a mile away - on a narrow country path!! old newspaper is fine for drying out walking boots!!!

These people who have never had a catheter don't know what they have missed - I could tell some more stories but I would end up in the naughty corner. (Travelling through an international airport with one is fun!!).

Back on topic - it's great to know you have a positive attitude and recovering well.

Kind Regards - Brian.

Community Champion badge

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

Strength, Courage, Faith, Hope, Defiance, VICTORY.

I am a Macmillan volunteer.

• Hi Brian,