Did anyone ever feel that Prostate wasn't a "Big" Cancer?

• 26 replies
  • 114 subscribers

Hi

I am new to Prostate Cancer (diagnosed 27th May 2021).  I was due to go to a "Men's Cancer Support Group" just after I was diagnosed.  I had this thing running through my mind, when telling anyone at the meeting they would go "Oh it's only Prostate Cancer".  As if it wasn't important.

This was all "fear of the unknown".

When I got to the meeting it wasn't as I had imagined, there was someone else there with Prostate Cancer who had had his treatment already.  He told me lots.

I just wondered if anyone else had the same thoughts when they were diagnosed.

• Hi Steve 

There is often quite a bit of talk about PC being the one to have as it's easily treatable.

That maybe the case if it's confined to the gland but once spread outside often it is not curable although treatment can successfully last for years.

Even confined to the gland sometimes it can come back to bite u.

U don't say what your stats are, I presume lowish and confined to the gland.

Best wishes with your treatment, let us know how it goes 

Steve

• Hi Grundo,

Cancer is just in prostate, Gleason 7.  9/29 biopsies had cancer.  Some aggressive.  Get to meet Oncologist  on 30th July.  Will find out more then.

Steve

Steve (SteveCam)

• Hi Steve

Your posting really struck a chord with me!

When I told a relative of my diagnosis, she dismissed it by saying that a man she knew had been living with PC for over 25 years and that it was not something to worry about. I was diagnosed over 3 years ago and have actually found that one cannot help worrying as, overnight, you are placed outside your comfort zone and the "fear of the unknown" is the hardest thing to come to terms with. Every case is different but it sounds to me that you are in a relatively fortunate position in that your cancer has not spread beyond your prostate which can make future treatment more complicated.