What to do? I am only a newbie once

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 6 replies
  • 110 subscribers

Hi Folks

This is all very new to me. I must confess to feeling calm and almost detached, which is weird but I guess not uncommon. I am semi retired 68 in very good health, wife and myself walk miles with our doggies each day. I have worked in the clinical trials field for over 30 years so I know a little about a lot. I am not a doctor.

My history see below. It has all moved rather fast since beginning of September. I cannot fault the system so far but I suspect my allocated cancer support nurse may be extremely busy.

GP appointment 13 August following months or years of mild urinary symptoms and yearly prostate examinations, this rectal prostate examination resulted in a referral to urology small hard nodule felt(?), PSA has always hovered around normal at 2.2

Urology consultation 27 August and consultant rectal examination referral for MRI

MRI 30 August (Sunday, Bank Holiday)

Urology Prostate biopsy 16 September for histology

Urology consultation 13 October cancer diagnosis (see below) options for surgery or hormone/radiotherapy

Notified of admission 16 October, Admission planned for radical prostatectomy 02 November. Assuming COVID doesn’t cause mayhem, which I suspect it might.

Biopsy results confirmed Gl 3+4 =7 (grade group 2) in five out of 20 cores taken, with the longest focus of cancer measured as 5.5mm. MRI confirms organ confined disease, T2 stage.

The MDT recommendations are active treatment. They can offer removal of the prostate or hormone therapy and radical radiotherapy.

Do I follow through with the planned surgery or look for focussed beam/ultrasound treatment, or will this be a hugely expensive route?

Best Wishes to All

• Hi and welcome!